SkinnyThighs
Get to work, bitch. (probably NSFW.)

Kat Eden knows her stuff.

Kat, thank you for pointing out the obvious for us. Often, aerobics instructors are fat.  Marathon runners can be fat.  I don’t mean fat as in morbidly obese, but certainly fat enough to need to lose 15 or 20 pounds before I’d ever want to see them naked.  Endurance cardio– not that I was actually doing much of it– doesn’t cut it.  Interval training, circuit training, and sprints are where it’s at for me from now on, thanks to Kat Eden.

Last night I went to the gym and purposely choose a treadmill in front of the mirror so that I could watch my form and not be distracted by a television.  Also, I’m less likely to do a face-plant if I can see my feet.  I put in my stats and when it came time to enter in the minutes I said, “Fuck you, treadmill!” and entered 20 instead of 45.  Did I even make it to 20?  No, I did not.  I made it to 14.  That’s how hard I kicked my own ass.  I walked for one minute at a 3.4 (the Aussie will have to translate that to km) and as the time approached 50 seconds I entered in 7.6.  When the one minute mark came I was in full sprint, singing along, hopefully not very loud, to “Disturbia.”  What an incredible high it was to run as fast as I possibly could because I knew that in a few seconds I could stop completely.  Just like a caveman running for his life from a big old dinosaur*, just like we were built to do.

And when the one minute sprint was over I jumped to the outside edges of the treadmill and I did not feel guilty for missing even a second of cardio.  I could stand there catching my breath for the next 50 seconds if I wanted to because Kat Eden said that if I wasn’t dying by the end of the sprint then I wasn’t working hard enough.  I did this seven times in a row.  Other women were staring at me instead of their TVs.  I have no idea what they were thinking and I didn’t have the energy to care.  I felt awesome.

I wobbled away and cranked out a few sets of lunges and squats without resting and then walked out the door.  Total time?  25 minutes.  I came home soaked in sweat and woke up this morning aching harder than I have in years.  Even my abs hurt and I didn’t even work them.  I hope to get my total workout time up to 45 minutes by the end of next week, but I’m never staying longer than that ever again.

won't be long now

*This is a joke.  No one needs to let me know that we did not exist with dinosaurs.

22 Responses to “Kat Eden knows her stuff.”

  1. Love it! There’s no better feeling than smashing yourself in less than half an hour and walking out knowing you cranked out more energy than most people would manage in a full hour or even longer. I just did a 15-minute workout b/c I didn’t have time for anything longer. You put that kind of pressure on yourself and you’ll be amazed just how hard you’re capable of working! Nice work on your treadmill trashing …

  2. HOLY COW, YOU GUYS.

    OK. I just did this The Kat & Kiki Way. And I’m pretty sure that as soon as I stop feeling like my spleen is going to come out through my mouth, I’m going to feel awesome.

    I didn’t make it quite as long or as far as you, Kiks, but I’ll take it because I have never been a great runner and the treadmill has never been a great friend to me. But you know what? I’m pretty sure that if I were in track in high school right now, I would have just realized that I’m a sprinter and a jumper and not meant for the long distance. I should really have known this all along since I was a gymnast, and that’s all about doing things in bursts. So, duh. Just this second, I have given up beating myself up about not being able to “go the distance.” Because I CAN go the distance; it’s just a different freaking distance. And this is the distance that going to get me some Carrie Underwood thighs. Suck on that, treadmill.

    For the record, I walked for 4 minutes at 3.5, then upped it to 7.5 and followed the pattern. I think I did 6 sprinty bursts, the first couple at a minute each, the rest at 45 seconds. And I am positive I rested for more than 60 seconds in between, but just until I got enough breath back to continue. Then I walked for 3 more minutes for a total of 20 minutes. The (really super handsome) dude on the treadmill next to me at the hotel gym who was clearly there for a straight distance run, and thought I was an idiot. But I’m not the one who was watching Two and a Half Men during my workout (loser). I finished with some bicycle crunches and good ol’ pushups.

    Now that I’ve been writing awhile, I don’t feel like I’m going to die anymore, and actually my body feels pretty great. My lungs want to know what my freakin’ problem is, but I’m going to ignore them for now and maybe they’ll get over it.

    Thanks, Kat! And Kiki! And Eva!

    –margo

  3. You’re not allowed to describe someone as super handsome if he’s watching Two and One Half Men because it’s a technical impossibility.

    I am very proud of you.

    -Kiki

  4. You’re right. I noticed he was handsome as he held open the door for me. I didn’t notice he was an idiot until I was on my way out. And it wasn’t until just now, when the oxygen returned to my brain, that I came to terms with the technical impossibility. Forgive me.

    I am very proud of you, back. Also, your playlist and this blog are the only reasons I even thought I could do it.

    -m

  5. Haha I was going to leave a comment saying isn’t anyone who watches that show (whether while training or at home) automatically a loser anyway?! BUt you guys got in first …

  6. Oh my God! It’s loserness is world-wide! Who knew? That’s the funniest thing I’ve heard all day!

  7. And the worst part? My man loves it …. now who I’m the idiot!

  8. I am really not sore at all today, and maybe I shouldn’t be comparing results with you, Kiki, but I gotta tell you I’m a little discouraged by this. It makes me feel like I didn’t, in fact, leave everything I had on that treadmill after all. And if that’s the case, I just don’t know where any more than that is going to come from! Plus, all day today I have had the cough that comes from running and not being able to breathe—do you know what I’m talking about? Is it just me?—which worries me a little bit. Generally speaking, I tend to be more sore on the second day, so maybe I’ll have something different to report tomorrow.

    In the mean time, I’m going to the gym. Because I may be discouraged, but I’m not giving up.

    -margs

  9. Alrighty, I just did another version of this workout. I did a one minute warm up walk at 3.3, then I upped it to 7.5 and this time I tried 30 second sprints followed by 30 seconds of rest. I did this 10 times (the last time bumping it up to 7.7 for good measure). I didn’t feel so much like I couldn’t go any longer at the end of each burst, but I also didn’t feel so much like I was (literally) coughing up blood as I did yesterday. Then I did another minute of 3.3 walking for cool down, followed by the butt exercises from that crazy Tracy Anderson dancing on the treadmill video I sent you (not the dancing, just the leg lift series). I probably could have worked harder and done more reps of this part, to be honest, but not knowing how the sprints are going to feel on my legs tomorrow, I didn’t want to overdo. Then I did some arms and some trusty bicycle crunches and got out of there. 30 minutes. I feel awesome.

    -m

  10. Nice one! And don’t worry if you don’t feel sore from cardio-type training, the more you adapt to intervals the faster your recovery will be. If you crave some serious DOMS just try cranking out a circuit weights session with some decent load …

  11. Um, was I the only one here who had to google the meaning of DOMS?

    -k

  12. Wow – this was really inspirational – I’ve been getting myself into 45min-1hour bouts on the treadmill (at 6.0) in an attempt to just burn burn burn but now I think I’m wasting my time.. gonna mix in some intervals tomorrow.

  13. Excellent, Anon. Join us for some treadmill trashing.

    -kiki

  14. Have you guys seen that article that came out, oh 6 months ago about mice data on super high-intensity intervals (like 10 second sprint, 20 second recovery)- basically you can get all your cardio in in like 12 minutes. Let me see if I can find it.

  15. 2004? I’ve been wasting my time for the past 6 years? Why aren’t people screaming this from the rooftops?

    -kiki

  16. (no, kiks, i also had to google DOMS.)

    THANK YOU for that article!!

    -margo

  17. Yeah I just saw that – 6 months/6 years, what’s the diff? 🙂 I DID just see it reposted 6 months ago though (and there was some sort of (c) 2008 at the end.. maybe it was republished). I also googled DOMS. 🙂

  18. Sorry guys didn’t mean to be presumptuous!

  19. […] because so far the full-feeling feels like it has to mean weight gain.  But Kat was right about cardio, so I’m going to trust her on this… and see what my scale says on […]


Leave a Reply

