SkinnyThighs
Get to work, bitch. (probably NSFW.)

Kiki gets schooled

by margo fontaine

Kiki got a good old fashioned Kat Eden Butt Kicking today.  Which is great news for the rest of us.

Click here to read about it… and keep eating meat for breakfast.  Don’t make me tell you again.

9 Responses to “Kiki gets schooled”

  1. Hi guys. I love Kat, but I have to say, I’m feeling a bit iffy about a few of the suggestions (and she might school me too).

    I’m all for more protein, but I get nervous at the idea of uber-high animal protein intake with very low grain intake – reminds me too much of Atkins, which sure, will make you lose weight, but at a price. I think she’s totally right about upping nuts/beans/avocado/olive oil and not being scared of fat in those sources or things like sour cream and mayo (in moderation). The thing that made me a bit shaky was the coconut oil. I checked with my dad, a long-time physician and nutrition/health nut, and here was his response to the coconut oil idea:

    “Coconut oil is not a good fat. It’s one of the “tropical fats”, along with palm oil; a vegetable fat that shares the unhealthy properties of animal fat. Animal fats have the structure appropriate to body temperature, namely highly saturated. They solidify at ambient temperature. Most vegetable fats are mono-unsaturated and polyunsaturated, which keeps them liquid at ambient temperature. The tropical fats come from plants that exist in the high temperature environment typical of mammalian internal temperature. Saturated fats of any origin that tend to promote atherosclerosis. I’m not aware of any special positive metabolic effect of coconut oil. The weight loss business sounds like Atkins…a high fat, high satiety diet helps to control appetite.”

    Made me nervous enough to skip the coconut oil. It was tasty though.

    Anywho.. I did have meat for breakfast every day for about a week, but it didn’t go down well with me.. I actually felt sluggish and cranky during the day. I’m back to peanut butter, oatmeal or egg whites in the morning, I think me and a lot of meat just don’t go well together (i was also eating things like sliced turkey for lunch and even fish or chicken for dinner – waaaay too much animal for my system).

    That being said, look at Kat – I certainly don’t look like her at all and am totally on board with the rest of the advice, just wanted to throw in my $.2 and pass along what my dad said.

    xoxo ladies.

  2. Thanks, Anon (and Anon’s dad) for the comment and info. I do hear what you’re saying, and I’m for sure not going to argue with a doctor who knows his stuff.

    There are definitely conflicting arguments about it, and many valid points on both sides. Kat also is a big fan of olive oil, so it’s not like she’s being paid by Hawaii to endorse the coconut (as far as I know).

    It’s still oil, so we definitely don’t want to get carried away. And it really is all about how your body feels, and if the oil and so much meat don’t make you feel good, then that’s what counts. Right now, it’s making me feel terrific, and I’m going with it. I can’t imagine that having no grains is going to make me feel all that great, but I’ll try it and see.

    Thanks for always making us think!

  3. *Totally* agree. So happy it’s working for you – I am just jealous! 😉

  4. Thanks for the feedback, Anon! It’s nice to hear another point of view. It definitely sounds like it comes down to the old “are animal fats good or bad for you” debate, which I’m totally unqualified to have. I’ve never done Atkins but my sister has. She lost a lot of weight on it but did so eating bacon dipped in mayo, or whatever it advocates. To my knowledge, Atkins also cuts out fruits and veggies for a long while, so that’s one big difference between that diet and what Kat is saying.

  5. Mmm, bacon.

    Yeah I don’t think Kat is saying *do* Atkins, I just get nervous about super high animal protein diets. And you’re right, it’s the age-old debate about if that’s a good idea or not. Ultimately, I like what Michael Pollan says: it doesn’t really matter if it’s animals or plants or carbs, as long as it’s eaten as close to its natural state as possible and looks like food your grandmother would recognize. 🙂

  6. Oh yeah, love bacon. Keep trying to convince myself it’s on the healthy side of meat but not so much, hey?

    Coconut oil controversy is huge. Many health practitioners still consider it a very bad fat for the reasons listed above, but my research has led me in the other direction. Dr Jonny Bowden is one of my favorite authors and here’s his take on the matter –

    “What’s the story with coconut oil? I heard this is a ‘bad’ fat?”
    You heard wrong. Virgin coconut oil is a good, stable, healthy fat that actually has a number of healing properties, not the least of which is that it is anti-inflammatory. The original bad rap for coconut oil came four decades ago, when researchers fed animals hydrogenated coconut oil that was purposely altered to render it devoid of essential fatty acids. The animals that were fed the hydrogenated coconut oil (as the only fat source) naturally became deficient in essential fatty acids, and their serum cholesterol increased. Early commercial coconut oil was often hydrogenated (loaded with trans-fats), and all the good, healing stuff had been removed. That coconut oil wasn’t very good for you. But real coconut oil is a health bonanza. The Pukapukans and the Tokelauans of Polynesia, for whom coconut is the chief source of energy, have virtually no heart disease, and research on these populations concluded that there was no evidence that their high saturated-fat intake (from coconut) had any harmful effects. The saturated fat in coconut oil comes mainly from MCTs (medium-chain triglycerides), which are preferentially burned as energy and less likely to be stored as fat, making them a good choice for a weight loss program.”

    Me, I eat the stuff with a spoon. And in clinical experience I’ve seen loads of people drop weight (and their blood checks have shown improved triglycerides and HDL:LDL ratios) when they use it. Just more food for thought 🙂

    Great quote from Michael Pollan!

  7. Not to jump on this train when it already left the station, but the hydrogenated issue did come to mind. I remember when I was a kid and Cool Ranch Doritos were new. My dad took one look at the ingredient list and said no after seeing the partially hydrogenated coconut oil.

    But then I realized that Anon’s dad is a doctor and knows full well that natural coconut oil isn’t hydrogenated and figured that the bad rap must come from some other source I don’t know about.

    I’m still going to eat it, though.

  8. Wow! Kat, thanks so much for the response – interesting, and definitely food for though, especially about the changing HDL:LDL ratios.. amazing. And Kiki, you’re right, my dad says: “I don’t think coconut oil is hydrogenated. My understanding is that hydrogenation is used to render liquid oil solid under ambient temperature so that it can be used in applications like butter. Coconut oil doesn’t require hydrogenation because it’s saturated to begin with.”

    He’s of the frame of mind that yes, hydrogenation is bad, but saturated fat is bad no matter what (hydrogenated or not), so that’s where he stands, but he’s one person.

    Oh and for the record, I was paraphrasing Mr. Pollan, not quoting him.. just in case *he’s* on GoogleAlerts, I don’t want to get myself in trouble. 😉


Leave a Reply

